NP / APRN Certification Roles







NP / APRN Certification Roles

APRNs make up four different roles or specialties:

  1. Nurse Practitioners (CNP)

  2. Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)

  3. Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM)

  4. Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)

There are general “specialties” in six population groups:

  1. Family (or individual) across their life span

  2. Adult-Gerontology (excluding pediatrics)

  3. Pediatric care

  4. Neonatal care

  5. Woman’s health

  6. Mental health

NP / APRN Certification RolesAPRN education consists of a broad based education including three graduate level coursework in advance physiology/pathophysiology, health assessment and pharmacology. Extension “hands-on” clinical requirements particular to the area of focus will be an essential part of their education.

This new organization will allow for future expansion and adaptation.